The Popcorn in Us

11/14/2010

 

'Go out on a limb'

Bear the heat

and expand

pop pop pop!

Let the ideas out,

plain or flavored hot.

pop pop pop!

Chew it and have some fun

like how you deal with some.

pop pop pop!

Identical popcorns, found one?

We’re one of a kind that’s why.

pop pop pop!

Ready the popcorn

for the movie of our lives.

pop pop pop!

How’s the movie show?

Plain? Salted? Buttered?

pop pop pop!

🙂

 

75 Responses to “The Popcorn in Us”


  1. […] Thank you too to everyone who smiled and appreciated my week 40 entry                 — The Popcorn in Us. […]

  2. Jamie Dedes Says:

    Clever! Cheerful in its way too. How can popcorn not be?

    Thanks for a fine Poets Rally contribution. Hope you are enjoying yourself.

  3. dragonkatet Says:

    Hi. I just wanted you to know that I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. There’s no pressure to accept, but I think your poetry and blog are pretty special, and thought you deserved an award for all your effort! If you’ve already received this award, then pay no heed to this kudos. 😉 Thanks and congratulations!

  4. danroberson Says:

    Sounds like popcorn heaven with so many flavors represented. A really light and fluffy poem, simply delicious! Now where did I put my popcorn popper?


  5. Lol, buttered for me please 🙂 and movie by your choice … Lovely!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you Blaga! My favorite movie is Life is Beautiful — enjoy it with your buttered popcorn 🙂

      • dragonkatet Says:

        I LOVE that movie, spoon! But it is hard to find people in this area who appreciate foreign films. Such a great movie and so poignant. 🙂 Nice to know there are other fans of it out there.

        • bendedspoon Says:

          The movie made me laugh loud, cry silently, and appreciate people enthusiastically.

          I smile too each time I remember Roberto Benigni walked over the chairs and people to receive his Oscar Award for Best Actor in 1999.

          Wishing you more laughters! 🙂

  6. mypastmademe Says:

    I love the popcorn theme and likening it to life’s decisions, flavours, just getting in there and getting on with things! At least that’s what I take from it … love it, and love the graphic! 🙂

  7. Rekha Says:

    Lovely piece this….holds for life too not just pop pop for the movies…My mouth’s watring for some chocolate coated ones.

  8. Vinay Says:

    Oh boy! I chose a wrong time to read your post, Bendedspoon.. 😛 its just after dinner, and now I’m wanting popcorn 😀

    I think I’m more of the chilli pepper type when it comes to popcorn though.. like lots of spice 😉 a delicious poem.. thanks for sharing!

    Here’s My Poem For Poets Rally

  9. JL Dodge Says:

    Salty somedays, buttery others, but always fresh and hot…LOL
    really liked this pop pop pop poem !!
    Happy Rally
    JL&B

  10. Julian Javier the Cyber Mushroom Says:

    hahaha! i love the Pop Pop Pop! haha very nice poem! very true and fun! haha! good one! loved the popping so much it made me cook a bag of pop corn in the microwave oven and listened to it while it popped! hahaha!

    Please check mine too:
    ” Perfect… “

  11. cloakedmonk Says:

    What great fun! I think I’m the nutty popcorn. I never thought of popcorn in the way of snowflakes. Thank you!

  12. Jingle Says:

    how is your day?

    please find time visiting poets who were here for you but you did not visit yet..

    Thanks..

    have fun. 🙂

  13. A.B. Thomas Says:

    slick! thanks for the smile on a hazy lazy Saturday – by the way, I usually go for “Dill Pickle”!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thank you for that gift of smile! There’s not much dill pickle in here but the first time we tasted it we laughed so hard with ‘sour faces’. Enjoy your day! 🙂

  14. Ina Says:

    Pleasantly popping poetry!

  15. Paulami Says:

    loved it too much i tell you 😛

  16. Ms. Queenly Says:

    Shoot, I love popcorn! Very cute. Love the onomatopoeia.

    ~queenly~

  17. tOuCh Says:

    A good poem to read while eating my favorite snack

  18. Reggie Says:

    A very tasty write bended…so well done.

  19. mairmusic Says:

    Fun analogy here– nicely done!

  20. magher1 Says:

    haha! nice one! love it how you compared popcorns to people and life 😉

  21. Olivia Says:

    Real spicy n nicely buttered- pop! pop! pop!
    Irresistibly yummy!

    Hugs xoxox

  22. Chimnese Says:

    some popcorn infront the telly wudnt be bad….

  23. Sam Says:

    Pop pop pop… I really liked this poem… aren’t we popcorn at the end …:-)))

  24. Jingle Says:

    what a seasoned write,
    you rock, mmm

    🙂


  25. The repetition of “pop pop pop” is really effective. A great poem bendedspoon, I really enjoyed it. Only problem is I now want some popcorn.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  26. thingy Says:

    Hee-hee. I’m popping, I’m popping! Love it.

  27. mariqia Says:

    Haha cute! i like the plain and salted one..

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Chef Tony came up with so many flavors and I tasted some like green tea, four cheese,etc. but at the end of the day my taste bud looks for plain with a bit of salt. hmm do i sense an excuse to chomp non-stop?
      🙂

  28. tonirand Says:

    Nice 🙂

    I never thought of Popcorn this way before (now I’ll think of you every time I eat some. lol)

    Here you go, making me think again 🙂

    Keep the flavors coming. Loving the inspiration.

    bless you,
    ann


  29. This was so cute…and ideas do feel like pop corn popping in your mind!

  30. Debbie Says:

    You are just too much fun! I think when I was young, I used to live on popcorn. Maybe that’s what’s wrong with me? haha! Enjoy yours and I enjoy you! You always keep things popping around here!

    • bendedspoon Says:

      Thanks Deb!
      I don’t know how long my relationship with popcorn will go. I’m like that with food — I crave, crave and crave then I no longer want it. I am sure it will come to an end so I appreciate the pop pop pop while at it!
      🙂

  31. maggsworld Says:

    I am not a popcorn person ( for consumption that is) but I do feel like popcorn in myself. I do.

  32. jmjbookblog Says:

    Oh, I know I should say plain…but I LOVE salted and buttered! Pop Pop Pop 🙂


Leave a comment